Navigationsweiche Anfang

Navigationsweiche Ende

Select language

Franco-German University

The Franco-German University / Die Deutsch-Französische Hochschule (DFH) is a union of French and German universities established in 1997 on the basis of the intergovernmental Weimar Agreement, which defines its tasks and structures. The Agreement came into force in September 1999. The Franco-German University is an international university with a decentralized campus located at its various member institutions and a central administration in the German city of Saarbrücken.

The DFH has assumed an expert consultative function for Franco-German university relations. Its goal is to promote communication and exchange between French and German higher education institutions, and to support and foster binational projects and activities in university teaching, in undergraduate and graduate education and training, and in research and the training of young academics and scientists.

More than 185 Franco-German programs of study were offered in academic year 2013-2014, ranging from engineering, mathematics and the natural sciences through medicine, economics, law and the humanities to the social sciences and teacher education. As at September 2013 some 5500 students were enrolled in the DFH.

In order to promote mutual understanding between the Franco-German science community DFH offers a wide range of Doctoral and research funding.

For detailed information on the structure, range of offers and activities of the DFH please visit

zuletzt bearbeitet am: 20.04.2020